UWF Stars in GSC Fall All-Academic Teams

first_imgUWF Stars in GSC Fall All-Academic Teams Share BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The University of West Florida placed seven student-athletes on the Gulf South Conference 2008 Fall All-Academic teams, it was announced on Tuesday.  The UWF women’s soccer team led the way with four selections, while men’s cross country, men’s soccer, and volleyball each had one honoree.Sheka Codner (Dover, Del./Ceaser Rodney HS) and Courtney Jones (Panama City, Fla./Bay HS) of the Argonauts women’s soccer team each earned their second selection to the GSC All-Academic Team. Jones led all Argonaut selections with her 3.83 GPA, followed by Codner’s 3.64 GPA.  First time selections include midfielder Marcela Franco (Sao Paulo, Brazil/Colegio Visconde de Porto Seguro) and defender Kaley Morris (Gulf Breeze, Fla./Gulf Breeze HS).  All-GSC first team selection Rafael Segal (Rishon Lezion, Israel/Mercer County CC) represented the men’s soccer team with his 3.33 GPA in International Relations.Sophomore Andrew Maedel (Orange Park, Fla./Ridgeview HS) earned the selection for the men’s cross country team, sporting a 3.52 GPA in Business Administration.  Maedel was the top UWF runner at three different meets in the 2008 season, including a 23rd place finish at the GSC Championships, leading the Argos to a 5th place team finish.  The sophomore was one of two underclassmen selected to the All-Academic Team for men’s cross country.Senior Jerica Carter (Gainesville, Fla./Gainesville HS) of the UWF volleyball team rounds out her four year career at West Florida with a GSC All-Academic Team selection, representing the East Division. Carter, an Elementary Education major, holds a 3.70 GPA after playing a vital role in the success of West Florida volleyball. The defensive specialist holds both the single-season (569) and career (1,706) records in digs.  This season, Carter was again the team’s dig leader, tallying 415 over the course 39 matches. She also provided consistency through her serving game, serving for as many as 14 consecutive points in a single set.  This accolade marks Carter’s first time on the All-Academic Team.The GSC Fall Academic Honor Roll was also announced, with 36 total UWF student-athletes making the grade.  Women’s soccer had 14 honor roll members, followed by volleyball with nine, men’s soccer with six, women’s cross country with four, and men’s cross country with three.  To qualify for the honor roll, student-athletes must have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher and must compete as a member of the team.Academic All-GSC Teams are selected by the Gulf South Conference Sports Information Directors (SIDs) and Faculty Athletic Representatives (FARs) in a joint vote. Nominees must have an overall grade point average (G.P.A.) of 3.20 or better on a 4.00 scale for their entire academic career and may not be freshmen or first-semester or quarter transfers. The student-athlete must be a significant contributor to the squad. Other factors include leadership, community service and extra-curricular activities. SIDs and FARs are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes. The number of student-athletes selected in each sport is determined by the number of positions normally involved in the playing of that sport. Ties are not broken.GSC Fall All-Academic TeamsGSC Fall Academic Honor RollUWF Honor Roll MembersName, School YR GPA MajorMen’s Cross Country:Tyler Bowman, West Florida FR 3.54 Computer EngineeringAndrew Maedel, West Florida SO 3.52 Business AdministrationPeter Orgass, West Florida FR 3.08 Athletic TrainingWomen’s Cross Country:Shannon McDougall, West Florida SR 3.88 Comprehensive MarketingStacy Paton, West Florida FR 3.83 Criminal JusticeTaryn Pomerantz, West Florida FR 3.60 ArtRobin Thompson, West Florida FR 3.33 UndecidedMen’s Soccer:Curtis Brashear, West Florida SO 3.33 UndecidedDavid McNally, West Florida SO 3.02 Engineering PhysicsKian Mikhchi, West Florida FR 3.18 BusinessRafael Segal, West Florida SR 3.33 International RelationsMarquel Waldron, West Florida FR 3.15 AccountingPaul Willoughby, West Florida FR 3.75 Pre-MedWomen’s Soccer:Connie Boisseau, West Florida FR 3.43 UndecidedLauren Byrd, West Florida FR 3.71 Athletic TrainingSheka Codner, West Florida SR 3.64 Hospitality ManagementTori Fish, West Florida FR 3.18 UndecidedMarcela Franco, West Florida JR 3.59 Business FinanceCourtney Jones, West Florida JR 3.83 Athletic TrainingCourtney Kolloff, West Florida FR 3.00 UndecidedKristina Menendez, West Florida FR 3.77 UndecidedKaley Morris, West Florida JR 3.46 Pre-MedTaylor Murphy, West Florida JR 3.75 UndecidedNaila Owens, West Florida JR 3.24 PsychologyNoelle Robles, West Florida FR 3.70 UndecidedCholena Russo, West Florida FR 3.61 UndecidedJordan Stone, West Florida FR 3.43 Elementary EducationVolleyball:Valissia Brathwaite, West Florida JR 3.53 Physical EducationJerica Carter, West Florida SR 3.70 Elementary EducationPatricia Gandolfo, West Florida JR 3.10 AdvertisingMadeline Gonzalez, West Florida SR 3.16 Pre-Professional BiologyJessica Keroack, West Florida JR 3.92 PsychologyCalli Kovel, West Florida SR 3.72 Broadcast JournalismJamie Nichols, West Florida SO 3.50 MarketingMaddie Staub, West Florida FR 3.53 Athletic TrainingChelsea Wilhoite, West Florida SO 3.08 UndecidedPrint Friendly Versionlast_img read more

Duke wins Clinton County PASS battle

first_imgBy Frank Buhrman That enabled sixth starting Jack Frye to move into third but he was unable to challenge for the lead. Scott Ellerman finished fourth and Scott Lutz finished fifth. Duke took his sixth PASS event of the season and third at Lock have. LOCK HAVEN, PA. (July 26) – Ken Duke Jr. emerged from an intense, nearly race-long three-car bat­tle to win the 25-lap IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car event co-sponsored by the Pennsylvania Sprint Series and Laurel Highlands Sprint Series Friday at Clinton County Motor Speedway.  Feature results – 1. Ken Duke Jr.; 2. Dylan Proctor; 3. Jake Frye; 4. Scott Ellerman; 5. Scott Lutz; 6. Reed Thompson; 7. Dakota Schweikart; 8. Jeffrey Weaver; 9. Dale Schweikart; 10. Tylor Cochran; 11. Josh Fox; 12. John Walp; 13. Ian Cumens; 14. Mike Murphy; 15. Dave Guss. Most of the race was a dogfight between Duke, polesitter John Walp and outside front-row starter Dylan Proctor, with Proctor leading the most laps but all three drivers taking turns at the front.  After Duke, who had started third, grabbed the lead for the final time, Walp spun and had to re­start in the rear. last_img read more