Delhi delight for Vettel

first_img0Shares0000NEW DELHI, India, October 28 – Reigning champion Sebastian Vettel rattled off his fourth successive win of the season in the Indian Grand Prix here Sunday to tighten his grip on the title showdown with three races remaining.The 25-year-old German produced another flawless display to pull 13 points clear of Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso, who came in second, 10 seconds behind.Vettel, who led from piller to post to add this to his wins in South Korea, Japan and Singapore and his seasonal debut success in Bahrain, is seeking to become the youngest triple champion in Formula One history. Vettel’s Red Bull teammate Mark Webber took third with McLaren duo Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button in fifth and sixth.The only danger to Vettel in an otherwise seamless success came in the closing laps when sparks sprayed out from underneath his car’s front spoiler, but despite Alonso being alerted to the incident by his team over the car radio it proved a false alarm.Felipe Massa came home sixth in the second Ferrari ahead of his old friend Kimi Raikkonen of Lotus, Nico Hulkenberg of Force India, Romain Grosjean in the second Lotus and 10th placed Bruno Senna of Williams.It was Vettel’s 26th win and he revelled in his familiar trick of adding the fastest lap of the race in the final lap and then standing atop of his car to milk the applause from the crowd.Vettel, aiming to become Formula One’s youngest triple champion, said: “Two years and two wins here, it’s a very special Grand Prix, I don’t know what it is about this circuit.“A big thanks to my team, we’re all pushing very hard.“This is another good step (to the title) for us but there is still a long way to go.”Alonso commented: “It’s not easy at the moment to fight with Red Bull but we will never give up….”RESULTS1. Sebastian Vettel (GER/Red Bull) 1hr 31min 10.744sec2. Fernando Alonso (ESP/Ferrari) at 9.4373. Mark Webber (AUS/Red Bull) 13.2174. Lewis Hamilton (GBR/McLaren) 13.9095. Jenson Button (GBR/McLaren) 26.2666. Felipe Massa (BRA/Ferrari) 44.6747. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/Lotus) 45.2278. Nico Hülkenberg (GER/Force India) 54.9989. Romain Grosjean (FRA/Lotus) 56.10310. Bruno Senna (BRA/Williams) 1:14.97511. Nico Rosberg (GER/Mercedes) 1:21.69412. Paul di Resta (GBR/Force India) 1:22.81513. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/Toro Rosso) 1:26.06414. Kamui Kobayashi (JPN/Sauber) 1:26.49515. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA/Toro Rosso) 1 lap16. Pastor Maldonado (VEN/Williams) 1 lap17. Vitaly Petrov (RUS/Caterham) 1 lap18. Heikki Kovalainen (FIN/Caterham) 1 lap19. Charles Pic (FRA/Marussia) 1 lap20. Timo Glock (GER/Marussia) 2 laps21. Narain Karthikeyan (IND/HRT) 2 laps22. Michael Schumacher (GER/Mercedes) 5 laps0Shares0000(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)last_img read more